Xorosho » Хорошая Музыка » Steve Reich - Four Organs-Phase Patterns(1970)(New Tone Records)/minimalism

Steve Reich - Four Organs-Phase Patterns(1970)(New Tone Records)/minimalism

опубликовал brom2002 13-07-2008, 12:12
Steve Reich - Four Organs-Phase Patterns(1970)(New Tone Records)/minimalismTracklisting:
1 Four Organs (15:35)
Maracas - Jon Gibson (2)
Organ - Art Murphy , Philip Glass , Steve Chambers , Steve Reich
2 Phase Patterns (16:35)
Organ - Art Murphy , Jon Gibson (2) , Steve Chambers , Steve Reich

Four Organs is a work for four electronic organs and maraca by Steve Reich.

The four organs, harmonically expound a dominant eleventh chord (D-E-F#-G#-A-B with an E in the bass), dissecting the chord by playing parts of it sequentially while the chord slowly increases in duration from a single 1/8 note at the beginning to 200 beats at the end. The process of increased augmentation is accomplished first by causing notes to sustain after the chord, and then notes start anticipating the chord. As the piece progresses this "deconstruction" of the chord emphasizes certain harmonies; at the climax of the work each tone sounds almost in sequence. A continuous maraca beat serves as a rhythmic framework.

Reich describes the piece as "the longest V-I cadence in the history of Western Music" the V (B-D-F#) and I (E-G#-B) chords being contained within the one chord: "You'll find the chord in Debussy and Thelonious Monk - the tonic on top and the dominant on the bottom."[1] He has cited the music of Perotin and other twelfth and thirteenth century composers as suggesting the technique of note augmentation used in Four Organs.

For performances of the piece, Reich recommended using electronic organs with as plain and simple a timbre as possible, without vibrato, to avoid the sound of the instrument itself distracting from the harmonic and rhythmic aspects of the piece. Reich himself employed four Farfisa "mini compact" models.

Reich composed Four Organs in January 1970. It was first performed in May 1970 at the Guggenheim Museum in New York City.[2][3] It was received well at the premier, and performances later that year in the United States and Europe received respectful, and in some cases enthusiastic, responses.[4]

Subsequent audiences were not always as polite. October 1971 performances by Reich and members of the Boston Symphony (at Symphony Hall in Boston) received a combination of "loud cheers, loud boos, and whistles."[5]

A 1973 performance of Four Organs at Carnegie Hall in New York City nearly caused a riot, with "yells for the music to stop, mixed with applause to hasten the end of the piece."[6] One of the performers, Michael Tilson Thomas, recalls: "One woman walked down the aisle and repeatedly banged her head on the front of the stage, wailing 'Stop, stop, I confess.'"

More about Steve Reich(eng)

Комментарии к новости
saba14 июля 2008 11:19
no может неправильно скачалось,но у меня получилось два трека,которые ближе к звонкам для мобильного,чем мелодии
mistamo15 июля 2008 03:12
ещё Reich`a ещё !!!!
brom200215 июля 2008 04:39
Ну вообще-то в описании написано,что на диске только две композиции-читайте внимательнее,уважаемый.
Что касается самой музыки,не нравится минимализм,не слушайте-слава богу,пока что у нас есть право выбора.А вот обсирать хорошую музыку,которую просто не понимаешь,не стоит!
А Райх ещё будет!Для всех хороших людей с умом и душой!
Очень рад,что на постсоветском пространстве ещё есть такие люди!
Слушайте качественную музыку,не бойтесь экспериментов!
trick2717 июля 2008 16:03
можъ и музыка и качественной заветься... но ее тоже понять есчо нужно.. по мне это полное г.... лишь время зря потратил
brom200220 июля 2008 04:42
Искренне тебе желаю дорасти интеллектуально до этой музыки!..
nokard8 июля 2009 21:39
Прям в трансовое состояние впадаешь))))
aregaz3 февраля 2010 01:40
Не работают ссылки recourse
Дайте минималу!!!
arslonga9 февраля 2010 01:03
ne kachayetsya ( perebrasivayet na glavnuyu stranicu..
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Лента комментариев
18 октября 2023 19:12
а флака ні в кого немає?
3 мая 2023 12:14
22 апреля 2023 15:49
Інтерв'ю з Олександром Піпою
20 апреля 2023 13:05
Может у кого сохранилась эта компиляция? Киньте ссыль в личку или реапните плиз)))
19 декабря 2022 14:53
fail ne neyden(((((((((((((
21 ноября 2022 20:02
Дякую за знайомство!